Arrival

The sunset, last night at twenty-five past midnight.

Yesterday, I stepped off the plane in Inuvik, Northwest Territories, after 30 hours of travel. It’s my first time above the Arctic Circle — in fact, the farthest North I had been before this week was Edmonton. I have the wonderful opportunity to be starting a summer internship at the Inuvik Community Greenhouse. The Greenhouse is a converted hockey arena where members have access to a plot in order to grow crops during the summer.

View from the plane.

There are many reasons I decided to apply for this summer position, but most of all, I was curious. When I began doing research on Inuvik, there was little information to find. The blogs I read and the vlogs I watched were helpful, but if anything, they only made me more curious. I wanted to see the midnight sun for myself, meet the people, garden in the greenhouse, learn the stories there are to tell about this corner of the Northwest Territories. And so here I am, and here this story begins.

Many Canadians, myself included, know very little about the northern areas of our own country. In order to do my small part to help others learn about this region, I will be documenting my summer and my own learning experience on this blog. If you have any specific questions on the region or the greenhouse, please feel free to leave a comment or send me a message here, and I will do my best to learn and answer. If you’re simply interested in following along, hit the « Suivre » button in the sidebar to be notified when I post. Welcome to the adventure!

Laisser un commentaire